Getting behind the wheel of a vehicle in New Jersey is an adventure worth having. However, there are some things you should know before driving through the Garden State.
Driving Rules and Regulations in New Jersey
Here are some of the basic rules and regulations you should know when driving in this East Coast state.
General & Safety
- Always keep to the right except when passing.
- All front-seat occupants of passenger vehicles are required to wear a seat belt.
- The child restraint law requires every passenger between the ages of eight and 18 to use a seat belt–regardless of where they are seated in the vehicle
- Children eight years and younger who weigh less than 80 pounds must be buckled into an approved car or booster seat.
- It is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content of 0.8 percent or higher.
- It is illegal to use your cell phone while driving unless you have a hands-free device.
- A single solid white line across a road at an intersection means that a motorist must stop behind the line for a traffic signal or sign.
- All vehicles must stop for school buses at least 25 feet away on any public or private road or parking lot when a bus uses its flashing red lights or when it has stopped.
- New Jersey law requires motorists to yield to pedestrians.
- Headlights must be used between a half hour after sunset and a half hour before sunrise. Headlights must also be used when visibility is 500 feet or less, when you are using windshield wipers due to rain, snow, and ice or when encountering fog or mist or other factors that reduce visibility.
There is often traffic on New Jersey roads, and the speed limits on interstates and highways are slightly lower than in other states. Business and residential streets have a limit of 25 miles per hour. In school zones, the speed limit is often lower so be sure to look for posted regulatory signs because the fines are very high if you are speeding.
|Within city limits:||20-35 mph|
|Undivided rural road:||30-55 mph|
|Divided rural road:||55 mph|
|Freeway within city limits:||50-65 mph|
|Freeway outside city limits:||65 mph|
Turning & Overtaking
- A right turn on a red is allowed if you have come to a complete stop unless prohibited by a sign.
- Passing on the right is only allowed when you are driving on a road with more than one lane going in the same direction, if the vehicles on the roadway are moving in two or more continuous lines or when the motorist ahead is making a left turn. Never pass on the right shoulder of the road.
- You should not pass another vehicle when you are on a hill or a curve or at any time you cannot see far enough ahead, at a street crossing or intersection, at a railroad crossing, on a narrow bridge or in an underpass or tunnel.
Several roads, often called “turnpikes”, in New Jersey have tolls. You can, of course, pay cash at the toll plaza and risk waiting in long lines of cars. Many drivers instead choose to pay with an E-Z Pass device, where you simply drive through certain lanes at the toll plaza and your linked credit card or other payment method is automatically charged. Most rental car companies, including Sixt, offer an add-on of this device when you rent your vehicle.
Sixt Car Rental in New Jersey
Now that you have read the guide to driving tips in New Jersey that Sixt has provided you can start planning your road trip. The state of New Jersey has many attractions that can be reached by car. You might want to visit one of the beaches on the Jersey Shore if you want to relax. You could also drive to Jersey City and visit Liberty State Park or the Liberty Science Center. If you travel to Atlantic City you can go to the Absecon Lighthouse or one of its many casinos.